Posted on

Rebel Treasure twentythird post

Rebel Treasure twentythird post

INT HQ OF THE NATIONAL PARK SERVICE – HORATIO’S OFFICE
A single desklamp sheds its cone of light on Horatio and his desk full of work, when Morgan enters.

MORGAN
I’m back.

HORATIO
I see. Where’ve you been?

MORGAN
I dropped the boys off at the FBI building.

This brings Horatio to his feet.

HORATIO
Did you follow them in?

MORGAN
No, I couldn’t think of a good enough excuse. I tried to stake out the lobby, but Riley was there so I just left.

HORATIO
Just wonderful. More bad news.
(Morgan reacts)
Someone found the body of your trespasser.

MORGAN
Bound to happen, I was all for dumping him out in the boonies, but Ma figured what better place than his own property.

HORATIO
Well, just maybe it’s not so bad news now. Sooner than we planned, but–
She left the items you told her to?

MORGAN
I’m sure. You know Ma, she’s thorough.

HORATIO
Good. We’re going to call in the tip.

MORGAN
What, now? We haven’t found the central deposit yet!

HORATIO
Oh, but we have. We have a positive ID on an artifact.

MORGAN
You’re going to burn Ben and his friend?

HORATIO
Yup, right after we get back from taking back what belongs to the KGC.

INT ABBY’S CAR – NIGHT
Abby watches the boys load the trunk and then pile in.

RILEY
Dibs on the back seat!
(to Abby with a yawn)
Mind if I sack out?

ABIGAIL
(laughing)
No, go right ahead, just no snoring.

BEN
Watch it chum. She has this thing about snoring.

Ben slides in beside her. She looks longingly at him, but he just leans over and kisses her rather perfunctorily.

ABIGAIL
Such enthusiasm.

BEN
Sorry, Babe. I’m on autopilot.

ABIGAIL
And pure adrenaline. I think I’ll call the museum curator and postpone our meeting.

BEN
You called the curator?

ABIGAIL
You betcha. He’s coming in early tomorrow just for us.

BEN
I could kiss you.

ABIGAIL
You had better, that other was one lousy kiss.

About rwoz2

Poet, historian, writer for stage and screen. Responder to Jesus (Romans 5:8)

Leave a Reply

